Liver diagram in abdomen

The Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, at the University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSOM) offers ACGME–accredited Transplant Hepatology Fellowship training at the PGY-7 level for individuals seeking to gain specialized expertise in the management of patients with liver disease.

Additionally, our institution offers dual certification in gastroenterology and transplant hepatology. This combined 3-year training program is available only to candidates already enrolled in our three-year fellowship in gastroenterology.

The focus of our fellowship program is to train academic hepatologists, who will become future leaders in our field.


Applicants must have completed a three-year  gastroenterology fellowship at the time of entry into this one-year program. At the completion of training, fellows will have gained expertise in the areas of general and transplant hepatology, fulfilling the transplant hepatology milestones and competencies determined by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) and the United Network of Organ Sharing (UNOS).

Curriculum & Clinical Rotations

During this year of clinical training, fellows will gain a broad experience in the management of patients with chronic and advanced liver disease, as well as those who are being evaluated for and have undergone liver transplantation. Learn more about what to expect from your curriculum and clinical rotations.

Institutional Research Resources

UMSOM has invested significant resources in developing organized centers and institutes so that clinician-scientists may participate in team science built around specific missions [e.g: the NCI-designated Stewart and Marlene Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center; the Institute for Genome Sciences (IGS), the Institute of Human Virology (IHV)]. Our Division has well-developed collaborations in place with these centers, facilitating fellow involvement in scholarly activities State of the art facilities in molecular / cell biology, genetics, immunology, as well as a robust infrastructure in epidemiology and clinical trial design enable bench, translational and clinical research.

Environment and Culture

The University of Maryland Medical Center (UMMC) is located within Baltimore. A core mission of our program is to serve the needs of our surrounding community by facilitating access to specialized hepatology and liver transplant services. The hepatology training program is closely aligned with the UMMC fellowship in gastroenterology and is committed to promoting a culture of collegiality and wellness.

Please contact the following individuals for more information about our hepatology fellowship:

Apply Today

We are currently accepting applications for the 2022 academic year.

To apply, please submit a letter of interest and names of two references to Ms. Braxton at