Shock Trauma operates in an extremely dynamic and difficult environment. Facing numerous challenges, we are committed to saving lives. Our physicians, nurses, ancillary and support staff bring the highest level of professionalism and expertise in care to each patient and family requiring our services. Shock Trauma also uses the most advanced technology and procedures in traumacare. The active interest and involvement of the Shock Trauma Board of Visitors makes all the difference. These community leaders make it possible to fulfill our life-saving mission. The Shock Trauma Center values the leadership, commitment and contributions of each member of the Board of Visitors.

The Shock Trauma Management and Staff would like to take this opportunity to thank each and every member for their dedication and tireless efforts on behalf of Shock Trauma and the Maryland EMS System.

The Honorable Timothy J Adams
CEO Sa-tech Inc., Mayor, City of Bowie

Ms. Sharon L. Akers
Executive Director, Edward St. John Foundation, Inc.

The Honorable Ms. Angela Alsobrooks
Prince George's County Executive

Mr. Leonard J. Attman
Phyllis & Leonard Attman Foundation
Attman & Glazer Builders and Developers

Toby Bozzuto
The Bozzuto Group

Lt Col. Roland Butler
Superintendent of Maryland State Police

The Honorable Calvin Ball
Howard County Executive

The Honorable Robert Cassilly
Harford County Executive

Mrs. Roberta S. Cowley 

Mr. Kenneth W. DeFontes, Jr.

Derrick Dickens
Baltimore Gas and Electric, An Exelon Company

The Honorable Mr. M.H. Jim Estepp
Prince George's County Business Roundtable and Jim Estepp & Associates

Mr. Alan H. Fleischmann
President & CEO, Laurel Strategies

Alexandra Hughes
Blended Public Affairs

The Honorable J. B. Jennings

Mr. Dan Joerres
President and General Manager, WBAL-TV

Timothy Maloney
Principal at Joseph, Greenwald and Laake

Arsh Mirmiran
Caves Valley Partners

The Honorable Mr. Johnny Olszewski, Jr.
Baltimore County Executive

The Honorable Mr. Steuart Pittman
Anne Arundel County Executive

The Honorable D. Bruce Poole, Esq.
Principal of the Poole Law Group and Chair of the Board of Visitors

The Honorable Ed Rothstein
Carroll County Commissioner

The Honorable Charles A. Ruppersberger, III
U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Brandon Scott
Mayor, City of Baltimore

Mr. Richard Sher

The Honorable James T. Smith, Jr.
Maryland Secretary of Transportation

Eric Smothers
2nd Vice President, Maryland State Firemen's Association

The Honorable Mr. Stephen A. Wantz
Carroll County Commissioner

Faculty and Staff

Tara Reed Carlson, MS, RN
Director, Shock Trauma Board of Visitors

Karen Doyle, DNP, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Senior Vice President Patient Care Services
Chief Nursing Officer
University of Maryland Medical Center

Bert W. O’Malley Jr, MD
President and CEO, UMMC

Thomas M. Scalea, MD
Physician-in-Chief, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center
Director, Program In Trauma, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Kristie Snedeker, DPT
Vice President Shock Trauma Center