The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) oversees the accreditation of residency and fellowship programs in the United States.

Trainees are assessed according to six core competencies:

  1. Patient Care
  2. Medical Knowledge
  3. Practice Based Learning and Improvement 
  4. Systems Based Practice
  5. Professionalism
  6. Interpersonal Skills and Communication

Each specialty has its own specific set of milestones that describe performance levels trainees are expected to demonstrate for skills, knowledge and behaviors in the six Core Competency domains.