Child Passenger Safety
Make an appointment now for one of four child safety seat checks!
Get your child's seat checked BY APPOINTMENT ONLY from 10 a.m. - 1 p.m. Upcoming safety seat check dates:
- April 5, 2019
- May 3, 2019
- June 7, 2019
- July 12, 2019
- August 2, 2019
- Sept 6, 2019
- October 4, 2019
- November 1, 2019
- December 6, 2019
For more information or to make an appointment, contact Safe Kids Baltimore at 410-328-7532 or email the coordinator: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Oldtown Fire Station
1100 Hillen St.
Baltimore, MD 21202
Child Passenger Safety Law
Maryland's Child Passenger Safety Law since 2008:
- Every child under 8 years old must ride in a booster seat or other appropriate child safety seat. Child safety seat includes infant seats, convertible seats, forward facing seats, booster seats or other federally approved safety devices.
- Every child from 8 to 16 years old who is not secured in a car seat must be secured in the vehicle's seat belt.
Protect your child as they ride! The back seat is the safest. Children under 13 years old should ride in the back seat.
For more information, please call Maryland Kids in Safety Seats (KISS) at 1-800-370-SEAT or 410-767-6016. Or visit them online at www.mdkiss.org.
Visit Sake Kids Worldwide for The Ultimate Car Seat Guide to figure out which seat best meets your child's needs.
When they outgrow their infant carrier they can ride rear-facing in a convertible seat. Keeping children rear-facing until 30-35 pounds, as most convertible seats allow, is the safest for your baby.
This includes convertible seats and combination toddler booster seats with a harness.