Program Director: Jay Menaker, MD, FACEP
Program Coordinator: Dora Russell

The Emergency Medicine/Critical Care Fellowship at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center is a 2 year program that allows eligibility for surgical critical care board certification through the American Board of Surgery.

The first year is designed to focus on ‘a clinical experience in the foundations of surgery and the management of complex surgical conditions’. The second year is the current Surgical Critical Care fellowship at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center. (see Surgical Critical Care Fellowship page)

Emergency Medicine/Critical Care fellows must have successfully completed an ACGME accredited Emergency Medicine residency (either 3 or 4 years).
Rotations for the first year are as follows:

  1. Acute Care Surgery (UMMC) – 2 months
  2. Trauma Surgery (STC) – 2 months
  3. Vascular Surgery (UMMC) – 1 month
  4. Cardiac Surgery (UMMC) – 1 month
  5. Soft Tissue Service (STC) – 1 month
  6. Trauma Orthopedics (STC) – 1 month
  7. Trauma ICU - 3 months
  8. Elective – 1 month