Trauma Radiology Fellowship


The Emergency and Trauma Imaging (ETI) section provides most diagnostic imaging services to the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center (STC) is the adult level I trauma center for all of Maryland. Because the section’s coverage of STC includes patients who are admitted to the hospital and followed as outpatients, the trainee’s experience is not limited to the patient’s acute presentation. He/she will have experience with trauma patients through the full course of injury recovery, as well as a number of complications, including fat embolism syndrome, bowel obstruction, and pulmonary embolism.

Though a highlight of the program, trauma is not the sole focus of the fellowship.  The section also covers the University of Maryland Medical Center Adult ED and the Critical Care Receiving Unit (CCRU), an 8-bed facility that serving as an ingress point to the medical center for patients transferred to UMMC with a spectrum of severe, non-traumatic conditions, including brain attack, cerebral aneurysm, aortic dissection, mesenteric ischemia, acute limb ischemia, soft tissue infection, and ARDS. as well as remote coverage of several surrounding hospitals including the level II trauma center and Adult and Pediatric ED at Prince George’s County Hospital.

The section interprets studies that encompass the entire patient, including brain, spine, and vascular. Studies interpreted included radiographs, ultrasound, CT, CTA, MRI, and MRA. Technology at the section’s disposal includes dual-source DECT, 64-MDCT, 256-MDCT, portable DR, free-standing DR, and MRI (3T & 1.5T). Two reading rooms are situated in the trauma admitting area and ED, with 5 and 4 PACS workstations respectively.  All clinical workstations have TeraRecon and syngo.via post-processing capabilities.

Section members are recognized nationally and internationally as experts in the areas of Trauma and Emergency Radiology. Members routinely publish book chapters and peer-reviewed research, lecture at national society meetings. Locally, the section actively participates in the education of trainees in Trauma Surgery, Emergency Medicine, and Critical Care Medicine, in addition to Diagnostic Radiology. The section enjoys close relations with Trauma Surgery and Emergency Medicine with whom it works closely both clinically and academically.

Currently, the section consists of 9 members: Thomas Ptak, MD (Section Chief) Uttam Bodanapally, MBBS; Alexis Boscak, MD, Azar Dagher, MD; Matthew Dattwyler, MD (Fellowship Director); David Dreizin, MD; Thorsten Fleiter, MD; Elana Smith, MD; and Clint W. Sliker, MD.


The fellow participates in all clinical activities of the section, including coverage of evenings, nights, and weekends. With increasing experience and competency, the fellow is given gradually more clinical responsibility and independence.

The section is committed to teaching and participates in weekly conferences with both the Emergency Medicine and Trauma Surgery services. The fellow is expected to supervise residents at the PACS station, as well as participate in radiology resident education, which includes a total of 2-3 didactic lectures or case conferences.

Though not mandatory, participation by the fellow in research is strongly encouraged to participate in research activities and protected academic time will be provided to work on an approved project.

If desired, electives in Neuroradiology, Ultrasound, and/or Pediatric Radiology can be arranged to augment the fellowship.

Applying to the Fellowship

Please refer to the application checklist and email or mail your application materials to:

Matthew Dattwyler
ETI Fellowship Program Director
University of Maryland Medical Center
22 S. Greene Street, N2E23
Baltimore, Maryland  21201

Michelle Johnson
ETI Administrative Assistant
University of Maryland Medical Center
22 S. Greene Street, N2E23
Baltimore, Maryland  21201
Phone: 410-328-2547

Applicants must meet requirements for both Maryland licensure and credentialing at the department’s affiliated facilities.

Please direct inquiries to the fellowship director, Matthew Dattwyler, MD, or the section’s administrative assistant Michelle Johnson.