Program Director: Jose J. Diaz, MD, CNS, FACS, FCCM  
Program Coordinator: Josanne Walker

The Acute Care Surgery Fellowship program at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center is an American Association for the Surgery of Trauma verified program for a total of 4 positions.

Acute Care Surgery Fellows must have successfully completed a General Surgery Residency and a Surgical Critical Care fellowship year to be able to matriculate into the second year as an “Instructors in Surgery”.

Qualified applicants should meet the following prerequisites:

  • Completion of approved general surgery residency
  • Board eligibility or certification by the American Board of Surgery
  • Established ability as a teacher of medical students and residents.
  • Ability to obtain a State of Maryland Medical License

The fellowship year is divided into two major components to meet the AAST curriculum.

I. Core Rotations (6 month): The fellow rotates on these services as a junior attending with a senior attending to mentor and supervise the fellows progress.

  1. Trauma @ R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Medical Center
  2. ACES @ University of Maryland Medical Center
  3. Soft Tissue @ R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center
  4. Trauma / Emergency General Surgery @University of Maryland Capital Regional Health

II. Required Rotations (2 months): The fellow rotates on these services as a clinical fellow to obtain additional clinical and operative experience in these specific clinical areas.

  1. Thoracic Surgery (University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Hospital)
  2. Vascular Surgery (University of Maryland Medical Center / Baltimore Washington Medical Center / VA Maryland Health Care)

III. Electives (3 Months)

  • International: South Africa or London (1 Month)
  • Burn: Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center (1 Month)
  • Research (1 Month)
  • LRU/ECMO (1 Month)
  • Any additional II rotations (1 Month) 
  • Active Military Only: Joint Trauma Systems, Brooke Army Medical Center (1 Month)

IV. Additional Training

  1. Rib Plating
  2. IRC Filter Program
  3. Advance ECMO