University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health (UM UCH) has an all-volunteer Board of Directors made up of leaders in our community. Its members are committed to building a strong, local health system that our community can depend on now and in the future.


  • Lawrence Scanlan, CPA, Chairman
  • James M. Harkins, Vice Chairman
  • Richard P. Streett, Jr., V.M.D., Secretary
  • Bryan E. Kelly, Treasurer
  • Lyle E. Sheldon, FACHE, President/CEO


  • William B. Allen, Ph.D.
  • Jason M. Birnbaum, M.D.
  • Robert A. Chrencik, CPA (ex-officio, UMMS CEO)
  • Melinda L. Craig
  • Henry J. Franey, CPA
  • Rajiv Goel, Esq.
  • Franklin J. Hajek, CPA
  • James M. Harkins
  • Muhammad K. Jokhadar, M.D.
  • Bryan E. Kelly 
  • R. Bryan Kilby
  • Andrew Klein
  • Dennis Kurgansky, M.D.
  • Donald W. Mathis
  • Lawrence Scanlan, CPA
  • Lyle E. Sheldon, FACHE (ex-officio)
  • Richard P. Streett, Jr., V.M.D.
  • Lisa E. Thomas, M.D.
  • William J. Ward, Jr.
  • Adele A. Wilzack, R.N., M.S.
  • Albert J. A. Young, Esq.

Emeritus Status:

  • M. Scot Kaufman
  • Roger E. Schneider, M.D.