Skip to main content

Kevin D. Pereira, MD

  • Professor of Otorhinolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery

Kevin D. Pereira, MD


  • Otolaryngology

About Kevin D. Pereira, MD

Toggle accordion item

Dr. Kevin Pereira joined the department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery in 2007 and is director of pediatric otolaryngology. Prior to coming to UMMC, Dr. Pereira was the chief of pediatric otolaryngology at the Children's Memorial Hermann Hospital in Houston and director of the Texas Pediatric Sleep Team at the University of Texas Physicians group. He was also professor of otolaryngology and pediatrics and vice chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston. Dr. Pereira was a six-time recipient of the Dean's Award for teaching excellence at the University. He received an honor award from the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery in 2006.
Dr. Pereira received his medical degree at St. John's Medical College in Bangalore, India. He completed otolaryngology - head and neck surgery residencies in India and at the Royal College of Surgeons in England, and a Pediatric Otolaryngology fellowship at Le Bonheur Children's Medical Center in Memphis.
Dr. Pereira is a member of the American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology (ASPO), the Inter American Association of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology, the American Academy of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery and the Society of University Otolaryngologists.
He is a well-known expert in the pediatric airway and specializes in managing sleep apnea and nasal obstruction in toddlers and infants. Dr. Pereira's research on the effect of body position on sleep apnea in children has received national and international attention. His other areas of interest and expertise are pediatric sinusitis and neck masses in newborns and children. He has published several journal articles and written chapters for textbooks on these subjects.

Gender: Male


  • University of Maryland Medical Center

  • Member of UM Faculty Physicians, Inc.