Taofeek Kunle Owonikoko, MD, PhD

Taofeek Kunle Owonikoko, MD, PhD

Hematology Oncology

Executive Director, UMGCCC, Senior Associate Dean of Cancer Programs, UM SOM, Vice President of Cancer Programs, UMB

Taofeek Kunle Owonikoko, MD, PhD

Languages: English

Gender: Male


Stoler Outpatient Cancer Clinic

22 South Greene Street
Floor 1
Baltimore, MD 21201
Get Directions

PH: 410-328-7609

FAX: 410-328-0079

About Me

Dr. Owonikoko is a thoracic medical oncologist who specializes in treating patients with lung cancer. His clinical interests include medical oncology (diagnosis and treatment of cancer), hematology (diagnosis and treatment of blood disorders) and internal medicine (treatment of diseases in adults).

Dr. Owonikoko is the executive director of the University of Maryland Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center, a National Cancer Institute-Designated Cancer Center. He is also the senior associate dean of cancer programs at University of Maryland School of Medicine. In addition, he is the associate vice president of cancer programs at University of Maryland, Baltimore.

Dr. Owonikoko is a distinguished translational physician-scientist. His research interests include preclinical experimental therapeutics, biomarker discovery and translation of promising laboratory findings into clinical trials. He has received peer-reviewed extramural grant funding for his research from the US National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense, private foundations and pharmaceutical partners.

Dr. Owonikoko is as an elected board member and treasurer-elect of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. He is also an editorial board member for several highly regarded academic journals, including Cancer, Frontiers in Oncology, Journal of Thoracic Disease and Translational Lung Cancer Research. In addition, he is a member of the American College of Physicians, American Society for Hematology, Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer and International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer. He has been a National Institutes of Health Study Section member for over a decade.