Grant to Focus on Cancer Disparities Research by Junior Investigators

This is the 14th year of an American Cancer Society Institutional Research Grant (ACS IRG) that was awarded to the University of Maryland Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center (UMGCCC) to support promising new research by junior faculty members. The ACS Institutional Research Grant provides seed money to new investigators without a national competitive research grant, so that they can obtain preliminary results that will enable them to compete successfully for national research grants.

The principal investigator of the IRG is Stuart S. Martin, Ph.D., Professor of Physiology, Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of Maryland School of Medicine.

New Rule as of 2018: The ACS has changed the eligibility requirements. US citizenship is no longer a requirement. However, if not a US Citizen, the applicant must have a VISA that will cover the time requirement to complete his/her project. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens are now welcome to apply.

New for 2017 Funding: UMGCCC will be funding three projects this year at $30,000 each. At least one Cancer Disparities pilot project will receive an award, and Cancer-Related and Cancer Disparities projects will be competing together for the third award.

Applicants must be within six years of their first independent research or faculty appointment. Faculty at the associate professor level or above, junior faculty with a national competitive research grant, and postdoctoral fellows are not eligible for these pilot project grants.

Application deadline is:  Wednesday, October 17th at 5:00pm. Please submit the signed hard copy and an electronic copy to:

Leanne Simington
Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center
655 W. Baltimore Street
Room 9-002, Bressler Research Building
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-706-8358

The pilot project grant applications will be reviewed by the local Institutional Research Grant Committee chaired by Dr. Martin. The committee is composed of UMB faculty and a representative of the ACS Mid-Atlantic Division.

For More Information