Skip to main content

Babies don’t come with instructions…but we’ve got the next best thing! 

The St. Joseph Medical Center's childbirth education classes provide parents with helpful information to make good decisions for a happy and healthy birth experience. Our expert team of mother-baby providers host a full range of classes that offer evidence-based, hands-on and practical instruction for an ideal “birth day” experience. Classes are taught by registered nurses certified in childbirth education, health professionals with years of skilled and compassionate clinical experience. (Helpful Hint: We encourage you to sign up for classes between weeks 22-32 of your pregnancy, to give you enough learning and prep time for your newborn-to-be.)

Your Childbirth class—whichever one you choose—will offer insight into the birthing process, your choices for pain relief during childbirth, mindfulness techniques for a more relaxing labor, possible interventions during labor and delivery, and making good decisions for a happy, healthy birth. 

Additional classes are added on a continual basis, Please call Family Education at 410-337-1880 to register for all classes listed below. Most classes are held in the Irwin Center, with the exception of the Breastfeeding class; click here for more information and directions.  

Baby Care Classes

Class one focuses on newborn appearance, cord care, circumcision, jaundice, crying and more.  Class two of this series focuses on safety, how to handle a choking baby and CPR for the infant.  $45 per couple. These classes are held in the Irwin Center.

Thursdays, 7 - 9:30 pm

  • February 13 & 20
  • March 26 & April 2
  • April 9 &16
  • April 30 & May 7
  • May 14 & 21

Fridays, 7 - 9:30 pm

  • January 24 & 31 -FULL
  • February 21 & 28
  • March 20 & 27
  • April 17 & 24

Breastfeeding Class

$20 or free if you are attending our childbirth classes. All Breastfeeding classes will be held in the main hospital, check your registration confirmation for the room. 

  • Thursday January 23, 6 - 8:30 pm
  • Saturday February 8, 1-3:30 pm
  • Thursday February 20, 6 - 8:30 pm
  • Saturday March 14, 1- 3:30 pm
  • Thursday March 19, 6 - 8:30 pm
  • Saturday April 18, 1 - 3:30 pm
  • Tuesday, April 21, 6 - 8:30 pm
  • Sunday May 3, 1 - 3:30 pm
  • Thursday May 27, 6 - 8:30 pm
  • Saturday June 6, 10 am - 12:30 pm
  • Wednesday June 17, 6 - 8:30 pm

Five-week childbirth series

Includes practice time for coping strategies and a tour of the hospital's maternity units. We suggest that patients planning an unmedicated birth choose this option, if possible. $60 per couple. The five-week childbirth program is offered on five consecutive Mondays or Wednesdays.  Childbirth classes are held in the Irwin Center.  Sessions start dates are:

  • Wednesday January 8, 6:30 - 9 pm
  • Monday January 13, 7 - 9:30 pm -FULL
  • Monday February 24, 7- 9:30 pm
  • Wednesday  March 11, 6:30 - 9 pm
  • Monday March 30, 7 - 9:30 pm
  • Wednesday April 22, 6:30 - 9 pm
  • Monday May 4, 7- 9:30 pm
  • Wednesday June 3, 6:30 - 9 pm

Three-week childbirth condensed series

Includes a tour of the hospital's maternity units, but does not include practice time for coping strategies. $60 per couple. The three-week program is offered on three consecutive Tuesdays or Saturdays.  Classes are held in the Irwin Center.   Session start dates are:                  

  • Tuesday February 4, 7 pm -9:30 pm - FULL
  • Saturday February 15, 10 am- to 12:30 pm - FULL
  • Tuesday March 3, 7-9:30 pm
  • Saturday March 21, 10 am to 12:30 pm
  • Tuesday March 31, 7 - 9:30 pm
  • Saturday April 11, 10 am - 12:30 pm
  • Tuesday April 21, 7 - 9:30 pm
  • Tuesday May 12, 7 - 9:30 pm
  • Tuesday June 2, 7 - 9:30 pm

Grandparents' Update

$10 per participant, 6 to 8:30 p.m.  The Grandparents Update is held in the Irwin Center.

  • February 6 -FULL
  • March 19
  • April 23
  • May 28

Mothering Matters Support Group

FREE

Mothering Matters is a free group for new moms who want to connect with other moms. The group is facilitated by a RN with mother/ baby experience. Bring your baby, relax and unwind in a safe supportive environment.  We have a scale for you to weigh your baby. Thursday's 10:30 am- 12:00 pm at Towson United Methodist Church. Mothering matters will not meet if Baltimore County schools open late or close due to inclement weather.

One-Day Childbirth Class

Classes are held in the Irwin Center.  9:00 am to 4:30 pm.  $60 per couple. Lunch on your own.     

  • February 1, 2020 -FULL
  • March 14, 2020-FULL
  • May 2, 2020

Car Seat Safety Checks

Car seat safety checks, please call for dates and locations.

Cesarean Preparation

Cesarean preparation - Call for dates.

Infant Massage

Bring your baby and learn to comfort him/her with massage, $15 per family. Please call for dates.

Sibling Preparation

 We offer a tour of the mother/baby unit for families with children ages 3 to 7.  Questions from the children are encouraged. - Call for dates.

Please call 410-337-1880 to register for all above classes.