Electronic Health Records (EHR) have continued to be a significant driver in how health care is delivered. From the growing regulatory requirements and ever-changing vendor environment, it can be challenging for practices to stay "ahead of the curve."

What is CEHRT

Since 2011, EHR software vendors have been held to the requirement of becoming "Certified EHR technology" (CEHRT), in order to attest to various payment programs.

The use of 2015 Edition CEHRT or later became mandatory in 2019. There are over sixty 2015 health IT certification criteria, which are organized in to eight categories that include care coordination, clinical quality measurement, patient engagement, and clinical processes.

2015 CEHRT Edition improves activities that are specific to the delivery of patient care and allows providers to participate in quality reporting programs.

Who is Impacted

Currently, the list of provider types considered to be ECs includes:

  • Physicians (including doctors of medicine, doctors of osteopathy (including osteopathic practitioners)
  • Doctors of dental surgery and dental medicine
  • Doctors of podiatric medicine
  • Doctors of optometry
  • Chiropractors
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Physician assistants
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs)
  • Clinical nurse specialists
Transform Health MD Logo