The multi-phase planning process for what is proposed to be the new UM Laurel Medical Center and its surrounding campus began in July 2016 when the University of Maryland Medical System (UMMS), Laurel Mayor Craig Moe and other community leaders launched a Strategic Planning Work Group (SPWG) to address the future of healthcare in Laurel. The collaborative process resulted in a set of recommendations regarding the transformation and modernization of UM Laurel Medical Cneter.

We extend our appreciation to the SPWG for their time and commitment.

Executive Committee


Craig A. Moe, Mayor, City of Laurel


Hon. Mary Lehman
Prince George's County Council

Ulric Donawa|
Laurel Medical Center Hospital Board

Hon. Robert J. DiPietro
Business Leader 

Hon. Fred Smalls
Laurel City Council and Former LRH Board Chair 

Brad Seamon
Prince George's County Executive Rep & Chair
Um Capital Region Health Board 

Kristen Jones Bryce
VP External Affairs
University of Maryland Medical System

William F. Goddard, III
Deputy City Administrator & Director of Emergency Services City of Laurel

Sherry B Perkins, PhD, RN
EVP/COO Dimensions Healthcare System

Brian Frankel
Assistant Fire Chief
Prince George's Fire Dept./EMS 

Committee Chairs 

Behavioral Health

Jill RachBeisel, MD
Chief of Clinical Services/ Dept. of Psychiatry
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Hon. Joseline Peña-Melnyk
Maryland General Assembly D21

Campus Development

Hon. Jim Rosapepe
Maryland General Assembly D21

Clinical Operations

Andrew Pollak, MD
Chief of Orthopaedics
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Emergency Medicine/EMS

Brian Browne, MD
Dept. of Emergency Medicine
University of Maryland School of Medicine

On-Campus Services

Trudy Hall, MD
Interim President & VPMA
UM Laurel Regional Medical Center

Volunteer Services

Hon. Michael R Leszcz
President, Laurel City Council

Hon. Valerie Nicholas
Pro-tem, Laurel City Council 

Work Force Development

Stacey Cook
VP Human Resources
University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center 

Jen Brock-Cancellieri
Senior Policy Analyst